Doctors encourage older people to take regular exercise, but there are few of them taking enough physical exercise. What are the causes and what solutions could be taken to solve the problem?

Although doctors strongly recommend that elderly people should participate more in sports activities on regular basis to stay active and healthy, many of them refuse to get involved in this practice. While there are some contributing factors to this matter, several feasible measures should be taken to improve the situation

Firstly, insufficient facilities is considered to be one of the main causes which discourage the old from being physically enough. Although there are many gym clubs and sports centers in settlements, they aim at young people’s activities. These sports areas mainly pioritize high-intensity workouts, which can be intimidating or even unsafe for older adults. Secondly, old people often encounter prevalent chronic diseases such as heart attacks, high blood pressure or arthritis, which hinder their mobility. These daunting physical barriers seem to discourage them from engaging in physical exercise because they are afraid of injuries.

To tackle this problem, there can be two possible solutions. One feasible approach is that local governments or authorities should set up more sports centers supplemented with appropriate equipment and amenities for the old. These centers should provide specialized equipment and classes tailored to the needs and limitations of older adults. Another effective solution is that there should be more health trainers who specilize in senior fitness to provide them safe and effective exercise plans which address individual limitations and concerns, and offer encouragement and support so that old aged people feel secure to take up sports.

In conclusion, the lack of accessible exercise facilities and age-related mobility problem are two main culprits behind the problem. I believe that by addressing these barriers with tailored solutions, older adults can be encouraged to incorporate more physical activity into their lives.