Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not get enough exercise. What are the reasons? What can be done to encourage them to exercise more?

Exercise is a major factor in keeping fit and living a healthy lifestyle. In today’s world, the aged do not get enough of it, probably due to a weak body caused by ill health, lack of motivation, and the fact that it was never a pleasurable activity as they grew older, making it a difficult thing to begin at an old age. Doctors’ recommendations of frequent exercise to the elderly are information that should also be passed on to those caring for these old people, and not just to the elderly persons themselves. Having said this, the caregivers, on the other hand, will be the driving force in ensuring that exercises are carried out routinely by either motivating, encouraging, or persuading them.

Furthermore, exercise amongst the elderly has proved inefficient because many geriatrics are weak in body and have lost interest in daily activities, as most of them now live alone. Imagine an old man who is suffering from arthritis and can barely walk straight up without feeling so much pain, and all his children have left him to start their own families. Pain and lack of interest have been his torment, and one means of ensuring he complies with doctors’ advice is to create things that will interest him and tackle the pain he feels in his joints. For example, he could go live with any of his children’s families while he receives good treatment for his arthritis. This, in turn, would make him happy and fit for any physical activity.

In conclusion, as much as exercise is needed for a healthy lifestyle, specifically amongst the elderly, and recommended by their doctors, the drawbacks, some of which are a weak body and lack of motivation, should be seriously looked into first in order to achieve good feedback from them.