Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However, many older people do not take enough exercise. What could be the reason for this? What can be done to encourage them to take exercise?

Elderly people are often advised by doctors to do physical exercises. Although, majority of them do not. This is because they may not have good health conditions and authorities plays a huge role in the encouragement.

Having a strong health is not common as the person ages. By the time goes on, people’s immune systems continue to weaken because they experience a vitamin deficiency such as vitamin D and B. As a result, aged individuals become frequently ill and sometimes get serious illnesses that make harder to move. For example, many elderly people have chronic diseases like joint pain and Osteoporosis which causes bone softness and high risk of fracture. Therefore, they even begin to fear from walking and think that exercise will harm more than benefit.

However, there are some safe ways to motivate them to do exercise. Governments or local communities should help to organize small groups that hold different activities in every week. The exercises may include light walking and stretching practices like yoga based on their situations and this enables them to socialize and spend their time meaningfully. This frees them from feeling of loneliness and it pushes elderly to stay motivated. For instance, Uzbekistan has a lot of elderly clubs which assists aged people to do yoga. These exercises are not only helping them to be healthy but also reducing death tolls among older individuals.

In conclusion, although health is an obvious obstacle for elderly people, governments and other organizations can give encouragement to them by developing programs which aim for building healthy lifestyle and social bonds among older individuals.