Does technology affect the environment in a positive or negative way?

There has been a debate amongst many individuals about whether technology positively impacts or negatively impacts the environment. While many critics believe it does more harm than good, in my opinion however the advantages it offers outweighs its negative impacts.

On one hand, it is a known fact that technology is renewable and can in fact help us reduce the reliance on fossil fuels and lower greenhouse gas emissions. Due to the fact that the majority of technologies such as solar panels and wind turbines harness natural resources, this can majorly help reduce our reliance on non-renewable energy sources. In addition to that, newer technological advancements made huge developments in the vehicle industry by increasing the number of electric vehicles and public transport innovations; By engendering the amount of electric transportation, this, in turn, can hugely lower air pollution and as well as greenhouse gas emissions, prompting a cleaner urban environment.

However, on the other hand many claim that technology can harm the environment with many companies or the government opting the extraction of raw materials to produce newer technology, which can as a result enforce habitat destruction. Another argument that critics bring up to the debate about the negative impacts of technology to the environment is that, it can create an over-reliance in humans to technology, which can lead to them refraining from traditional practices which might be more environment friendly and sustainble. For example: Modern farming practices heavily depend on chemical fertilizers and pesticides, which can degrade soil health and biodiversity compared to traditional methods.

Ultimately , while both present strong arguments, I find myself aligning with the perspective that it can actually work wonders for the environment, due to the amount of power it can hold in reducing pollution and lowering the usage for non-renewable energy sources.