Does violent video games make children more violent?

Nowadays, children can get their hands on video games very easily. This can be either online or even in person. Even though video game stores lost the battle against online stores, there are still some left in every city.

This ease of reach can be malevolent for children, since there exists many types of video games. A parent should take precautionary measures against exposing their child to violent games. But even this isn’t sufficient to protect the kids. Video game playthrough videos are available to be watched on websites such as YouTube, Vimeo and also on streaming platforms like Twitch.

Although there isn’t any direct relation between increasing violence and crime rates and consuming violent video game contents, children are still in need of protection against these kinds of dangerous exposures.

As a person who spent their childhood playing video games which were wildly violent, I do not see the correlation between increased violent tendencies and video games. It may be far-fetched to assume such a cause and effect exist. But this does not mean that the children should be absolutely free to interact with these contents.