Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of modernization, it is evidently witnessed that mega stores are being established worldwide at a very high rate. As a result, small businesses are failing to survive in the market. Owing to this, multitudes tend to believe that the discontinuation of local firms due to lower sales would bring about problems for the people belonging to downtrodden communities. However, this essay tends to partially agree with the notion that local people will suffer from the failure of local businesses.

Supermarkets offer a wider range of products at the same place, making it convenient for consumers to purchase their essentials. As a result, masses prefer buying things from superstores, rather than the local shops. Predominantly, this has led to a significant drop in the sales of small businesses. For instance, people are more likely to buy grocery items from mega markets as they offer both indigenous and exotic fruits and vegetables under the same roof rather than from local vendors. Moreover, lower sales entail minimal profits, which affects their annual income and degrades their living standards. This furthermore, not only hampers their growth but will also turn them prone to various physical and mental ailments.

On the contrary, it is undeniable that superstores have impacted and lowered the sales of local shops, but this cannot lead to the complete closure. As some people still rely on the small businesses to purchase their basic requirements. For instance, daily wage earners usually buy items in smaller quantities and visit stores frequently.

After a great deal of deliberation into this topic, it seems to me that the closure of small businesses may lead to problems for common people, and the development of supermarkets is the underlying prompt to some extent.