Eco-tourism usually involves people visiting remote areas. Some people think this will have a negative impact on local cultures and communities. What problems can result from eco-tourism?

Some people tend to believe that eco-tourism can result a negative influence on local cultures and communities, while others think that this idea is beneficial and more individuals should be involved. This essay will explore which problems eco-tourism might cause and think of some solutions to protect the local area.

Eco-tourism requires a long-distance ride in order to explore nature and avoid overcrowded megapolises. However, long-distance trips have a serious impact on Earth because of huge amount of carbon emissions into the atmosphere. For example, a lot of people in Austria like to spend their weekends outside of the city, especially in Hallstadt, which is one of the most majestic towns in the world. Despite, of their desire to run out of the crowded city, they spend more than 2 hours driving a car, which equals an enormous amount of fossil fuels. Therefore, eco-tourism might cause huge ecological problems, because of carbon footprint.

One viable measure that could be taken is to encourage people to use their bikes or public transportations in order to minimise harmful impact of fossil fuel. For instance, instead of traveling alone, people should ne encouraged to try carpooling, which is very popular among tourist in Ukraine. This method is not only eco-friendly, but also more profitable, then travelling alone. The other solution is to invest into cycling infrastructure and make it easier for people to ride with their bikes. For example, there are a lot of athletes who would support this idea and make it more affordable for other people.

In conclusion, despite attempts of eco-tourism to deal with global problems it has a negative impact on the atmosphere, because of huge carbon emissions. However, encouraging people to try carpooling or bikes is one of the most viable solution, that could be taken in order to solve this problem.