Economic growth is the best way of ending global poverty but it can also have a negative effect on the environment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Economic growth is argued that it is the best way to end global poverty. However, others opine that it can harm the environment by using up natural resources and causing pollution. In this essay, I will discuss these ideas.

To begin with, economic growth can help to reduce global poverty in several ways. Firstly, it creates more jobs that enable residents to earn money and improve their lives . For example,in the past few decades, countries like China and Vietnam have witnessed rapid industrial development, which has significantly reduced poverty rates. Millions have been able to move from subsistence farming to better-paying jobs in cities, improving their standard of living. Additionally, the Government has a large budget to invest in building schools, hospitals and supporting the poor and homeless. Thanks to economic growth in recent years, the Vietnamese government has been able to expand healthcare coverage in rural areas and offer free education for children from low-income families, for instance.

On the other hand, economic development can lead to environmental degradation. Firstly, rapid industrialization can result in overuse of natural resources. The fossil fuels such as coal and oil make use of manufacturing electricity, energy to serve industry and transportation. For instance, in many parts of the Amazon rainforest, large-scale logging and mining activities driven by economic demand have caused massive deforestation and loss of biodiversity. Moreover, overexploitation not only poses a threat to the environment but also causes pollution. Factories release hazardous emission and untreated water while increased vehicle usage contributes to high levels of air pollution. For example, the rapid industrial expansion in cities like New Delhi and Jakarta has resulted in dangerously high levels of air pollution, which significantly increase the risk of respiratory illnesses among the population.

In conclusion, economic growth is beneficial for ending global poverty by increasing employment opportunities and improving infrastructure. At the same time, expansion of the economy has an influence on the environment due to overusing natural resources and leading to environmental pollution. In my opinion, despite of bringing more benefits for residents, we need concern about the effect of economic growth on the environment