Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable time having sport lesson as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sport continues to be a controversial topic as a school curriculum. It is widely believed that having children participate in sport programmes on a basis is incumbent upon the family, and as a matter of fact schools should not devote their time to more academic subjects rather than sport. Personally, such activities are preferable to be the responsibility of schools and I will explain why.

First and foremost, the more time you spend on something, the more impact it has, meaning that pupils tend to devote a considerable amount of their time at schools which is usually more than half a day. As a result, academies can have a key role in making up new habits such as regular exercise for adolescents. Second of all, involving teenagers in such activities which might be tough doing on a daily basis requires lots of hard work and through experts, trainers or physical education teachers at schools are ones who are subject specialists and they are aware how to keep students involved and motivated. Finally, positive peer pressure may hopefully ameliorate the circumstance, meaning that by being surrounded by peers with healthy lifestyle and positive attitude may foster the students to more active pursuits.

It is true that there are some positives in doing such activities under the supervision of parents, most notably is that they know which field of sport their kids have interest in and dedicating their full attention to their children. Despite this, it seems to be less effective.

To conclude, making sure that children participate in sport programmes appears to be the responsibility of the schools for being time consuming and around classmates with positive behavior,and having knowledgeable instructors. This is not to say that parents do not have an important role in this situation.