How can shared values such as freedom, education, and civic responsibility contribute to cooperation between the United States and Kazakhstan?

On the 19th of July, 1990, the President of the Kazakh SSR, Nursultan Nazarbayev visited Washington, the capital of the United States, where he met with Brent Scowcroft, the assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, and other political figures who were the foundation of the Kazakh-American cooperation before the independence of one of the nations. This historical moment has an enormous impact on the Kazakh-American relations, and has started a numerous collaborative programs aimed at increasing the quality of education and re-evaluation the mentality of residents of both countries.

Diplomatic relations of the Kazakhstan Republic and the United States of America began with shared values as a fast-developing economic partnership between countries of eagles. Moreover, joint steps in disarmament are a primary mission that turned into the groundwork for bilateral diplomacy of lands of freedom. Also, besides being free, the USA and the Kazakhstan have a lot of social projects that have a massive impact on diverse spheres of activities, such as education, civil responsibility, and culture. Therefore, the two states’ governments sought cultural exchange. A clear example of that is the social media and web culture. The internet, being available around the world, presents to a lot of its users the cultural diversity between ethnic groups of the earth. The video hosting service called as YouTube affected me, a young person from an industrial city. When I was 7 years old, this type of social network was my introducer to American modern culture, geography, history, art, and knowledge. It motivated me to study the most spoken language in the world and understand the mentality of the American people. Perhaps, there is a peer from another part of the world who becomes fascinated by Kazakh culture and has huge potential to add value to diplomacy, due to the availability of information. It is not about one side teaching the other, it is the digital bridge as cooperation in programs and the internet by politics and younger generations.

However, freedom and education are not enough to beneficial cooperation. My civic responsibility was tested when I traveled hundreds of kilometers from my hometown to the capital, to participate in volunteer cleanup, which was organized by western partners. Working with people from different continents and cultures, I realized that a civic duty has universal values and no borders. This activity provided me with the experience that allowed me to see how western approaches to solve environmental problems can be implemented locally. After all, I am convinced that these same values of proactive citizenship are the groundwork of the Kazakh-American diplomacy. By sharing such experiences in social projects, our nations can move to wealth cooperation.

Despite the geographical distance, these nations share a commitment to the two-way development in freedom, civic responsibility, and education. From my perspective as a youth, future relationships between the United States and the Kazakhstan will lead to deep transcultural understanding promoted by the younger generations.