environmental and economic damage from Food Waste and how as individuals and the government can overcome it

Food waste is a world-wide issue that has been going on for decades But more recently, food waste has become an increasing source of problem with the rising demand of food happening simultaneusly with the rising amount of food waste. This issue then becomes even bigger when we see it in the lens of the environmental impact it has, as well as the economic losses that lots of food producers, such as farmers, go through.

The issue itself stem from a lot of problems tied to modernization. When we think of food shopping, we think of the supermarket more often than not. When food gets to the supermarket, it is often purchased at the bulk for stock purposes in the supermarket, but when we think about it, at the end of the day it all gets thrown out because food is perishable and can go bad. Supermarkets in of fitself already creates a big amount of food waste, but when we widen our perspectives, even supermarkets are only a small chunk of what the food industry’s food waste consist of.

This leads us to another problem, the environmental and economic damages that food waste cause. Every human being needs food as it is our source of life. But when we demand more and more fogd to be mass’ produced, it takes a toll on our environment with trees being cut down for-planting fields and our soil getting overworked. Not to mention the economic damages that food waste cause with being mass produced but impossible to sell all of the stock, which leads to farmers burning crops and getting less than what they deserve. As human beings, we need to be more conscious on our food waste. When we take something from nature, we must give it back, so rather than measly throwing out our food waste at home, we can use it as compast. The goverment should also take part in organizing our food waste by redistributing food that will soon go bad to people in need such as homeless people

In conclusion, it takes a conscious team effort to minimize food waste So everyone should be more aware of this underlying issue and avoid more unneeded food waste.