In some countries, it is believed that crime among young people is increasing. What are the reasons for this trend? What types of punishment or approaches are most suitable for young offenders?

The emergence of crimes among youth and the disciplinary measures taken by certain countries are widely debated. In my view, broken families, tough living conditions, and the media’s negative influence contribute to the rise of crimes. Additionally, rehabilitation in prisons and reform centers by integrating educational and vocational programs acts as an effective approach to decrease the likelihood of reoffending.

To begin with, young people coming from disadvantaged backgrounds or living in underserved areas are more susceptible to committing crimes, such as armed robbery or murder. The wide gap between social classes lays the foundation for such crimes, as people enter early adulthood feeling marginalization, injustice, and discrimination because of poverty and need. Moreover, nowadays, the media has become severely tainted with violence, which urges many impressionable individuals to break the law and seek vengeance. The famous Egyptian T.V star Mohammed Ramadan, for example, has been idolized for promoting inappropriate content that normalizes thuggery and abuse in media, particularly with the lack of parental guidance and supervision. This, in turn, can weaken family ties and destroy the moral values in society. Furthermore, many young people strive to get the luxurious lifestyles of celebrities and influencers on social media networking websites. Consequently, all these possible causes may shape the attitudes of the youth and distort their moral compass.

Admittedly, there are members of the public who believe that extended imprisonment and stricter punishments may correct these devious acts. However, this argument does not consider the severe psychological burden of these practices. Many ex-convicts may act aggressively towards others upon release, which increases the likelihood of reincarceration. One of the most effective approaches to tackle this issue is to provide educational and vocational training opportunities to young people in rehabilitation centers and jails. Consistent training in skilled trades, such as carpentry and plumbing, has been documented to decrease stress and anxiety levels in prisoners. Additionally, this allows for realistic chances to pursue future employment upon release, which provides more stable incomes and financial security, decreasing the possibility of recidivism. These strategies outperform punishment and disciplinary measures to reform young people and encourage them to pursue new life goals.

In conclusion, the rise of the crime rate in society can be attributed to many reasons, such as difficult socioeconomic conditions, fragmented family relationships, and the negative impact of the media on young people. Offering educational and employment opportunities can reduce the crime rate instead of longer sentences to motivate the youth to control their lives and achieve success in their lives.