Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems such as climate change have remained an international issue due to governments not penalizing those responsible. This essay agrees with this statement because it will give incentive to people to stop contributing to a ruined planet and it will help bring about innovations that are safer for the environment.

Enforcing harsher punishments on people who contribute to environmental problems will incentivize them to stop. When an action is punished it drastically reduces the amount of people from doing it. Once people realize that what they do might lead to dire consequences, they will cut back on excess usage of their cars, and other matters that release many greenhouse gases. A recent study concluded that fining people that used their cars a large amount each day, led to a significant decrease in greenhouse gas emissions.

Punishing people for helping bring about problems like climate change and global warming will lead to greener innovation and inventions. Since people will start to fear using their vehicles in excess, many inventors will be inspired to create technology that will release far less carbon dioxide due to the increasing demand. Research suggests that far more people buy products when it is the only one available.

In conclusion, penalizing those who help contribute environmental issues will bring about a planet with cleaner air and more environmentally friendly inventions.