Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We are living on a planet called Earth. In the present, because of overpopulation and some modern technology, we are destroying our environment day by day. A section of society thinks that environmental problems are international, that’s why national governments are not applying any strict laws against criminals. From my own view, I do not agree with this statement. Now, I will outline the reasons in my further paragraphs.

With regards to the Earth, it is our home, and it is our duty to save it no matter where we belong. Furthermore, natural disasters such as floods, earthquakes, global warming, and so on occur because of us. It is not like that only one or two countries are facing challenges. Every single nation is in trouble. As an example, in 2022, the UK’s temperature surprisingly reached 40 degrees Celsius. People could not be able to step out from their homes comfortably. Not only this, but also other countries’ temperatures rose sharply compared to the past few decades. Moreover, there are many more issues every continent is facing.

There are numerous reasons for these environmental problems. Firstly, for making houses, hospitals, industries, etc., people are cutting down trees. As a matter of fact, the level of carbon dioxide is increasing dramatically in the air. For instance, a survey conducted by Oxford University in 2015 figured out that only 16% of forest area is left, whereas we need 25% of forest. Secondly, because of the industrial waste, our seas and rivers’ water are polluting, which is damaging our biodiversity and also responsible for the rise in sea level. To solve these problems, if the government implements any strict punishment, but citizens do not know what to do to protect the environment, then that will be useless.

In conclusion, I think punishment will work 50%, but public awareness towards saving the environment will work 100%. Therefore, without waiting for the government to establish any rules, or if it is an international matter, we need to take steps.