Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is often argued that health insurance needs to be available for free and provided by the authorities to everyone. I firmly believe that even though private medicine provides quality, the government still should give those services.

First and foremost, access to medical treatment is a basic need of an individual. In other words, the financial position of a person should not determine their health state. For instance, a massive proportion of people in Ukraine can not provide themselves with medical help in result of low salaries. This means that if authorities decided to give everyone free health insurance, the number of ill youth or elderly people would experience a significant decrease.

Furthermore, it is economically efficient, since treating a disease in the beginning makes it easier to cure, and less money is spent. This is because, when check-ups are free, it is easier to detect illness early, which is less cotly for the goverment. For example, the UK has been consistently growing in economic position since they provided free medical care for every individual. Conversely, a majority of people that suffer from cureble, but costly disease go bankrupt, since they can not afford the whole medical treatment.

In conclusion, while state-funded healthcare entails high taxation, its social and economic benefits are paramount. By prioritizing universal access, governments not only protect vulnerable citizens but also foster a healthier, more productive society in the long run.