Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

I believe that healthcare must be a payless right of citizens and that it should be provided by governments, globally. Today, the entire human race hold their rights to live a healthy life, and it is contradictory for institutions to demand pay in exchange of medical care. Additionally, all citizens come from different backgrounds, including some that are unable to afford healthcare. Therefore governments must cover such citizens’ medical expenditures.

People in numerous states hold their right to continue a healthy life, as protected by ratified human rights agreements. For this right to be satisfied, civilians, regardless of their backgrounds should be granted access to healthcare systems, free of charge. If states refuse to, or are unable to provide assistance in this matter, without asking for anything in return, then they fail to treat their citizens by international standards. For instance, one of the few countries where free medical care is not provided by the federal government is the United States of America. Furthermore, the amount of civilian complaints in the country regarding the health system is one of the highest compared to other parts of the world, due to the high expenses and the contradiction it creates between standard human rights.

Moreover, money should not be the distinguishing element in determining who receives a top-notch service by medical professionals. People coming from various backgrounds will also have different socioeconomic levels. Cost of sanitary, quality healthcare is quite high across the globe. As a result, citizens of countries that have lower GDP per capita statistics will suffer from inaccessibility of medical care. One example may be Africa, where even the most common sicknesses or viruses go untreated because of the amount requested from the patient.

Ultimately, I agree fully that free medical care should be a key component for people throughout the world and should be provided by governing bodies. The contrary would go against human rights and citizens of Less Developed Countries (LDCs) must have the same rights with anyone else.