You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Two hundred years ago, the average life expectancy in a developed country was around 45 years. Nowadays, that is approximately how long a career may last for most nine to five workers. For our sanity’s sake, it is vital that this lifetime of employment bestowed upon us, can be cross referenced with our talents and desires and most importantly contribute to our happiness in life. Unfortunately not everyone is privileged enough to experience this and it is those people who end up wasting their prime years of joy.

Firstly, the educational system is the main reason why most of current society fails to enjoy their profession. Children are taught to care about their grades in subjects that do not interest them instead of making the ones they are talented at, the focal point in their school life. I personally believe that university is too late for adolescents to commence specialising in their field of choice. Schools should aid their students to discover their passion as early as possible.

The consequences of not working in an area you enjoy working in are endless. From consuming your precious time, to affecting you emotionally, to never achieving true happiness. You name it. The pressure we put on today’s youth to get a job regardless of what it is is so heavy that they crumble because of it and are obliged to live a life which is far from ideal.

Overall, I believe that the way we educate children is key when it comes to figuring out what rocks their boat. Therefore, as long as they are taught that money is the definition of success and that work is never enjoyable, they will have to face the consequences of an unwanted lifetime of slavery.