Some people believe that if a child commits a crime he or she should be punished, while others think it is the child's parents who should be punished. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As we approach the world of shifting social norms and cultural values, the question of whether the responsibility for criminal conduct must be on children themselves or whether it should be the household members, particularly parents, to shoulder the commitment for illegal performance. While children hold a solid contribution to legal wrongdoing to some extent, I believe that parenting style directs every action their young take no matter whether it’s towards a prosperous future or against it.

Advocates of holding children criminally liable for punishable activities cite various reasons to support their stance. When the young respond in accordance with law for their criminal actions, this approach serves as a deterrent to pursuing anti-social tendent behavior, thus preventing them from relapsing into maintaining illegal means of activities, reintegrating into the community, and fitting in with community members. This can ultimately lead them to prioritize academic performance, involving themselves in educational programs along with vocational trainings, resulting in potentially securing rewarding jobs in the long run, achieving financial freedom, investing in income-generating assets, and saving up for future emergencies. A case in point is my home country of Uzbekistan, where children themselves but no one provides responses on a legal basis, as it enables them to reconsider their unconsidered decisions and thoughts so much so that it creates a mutually beneficial scenario for individuals and society as a whole and promotes long-term societal prosperity.

Despite these arguments, since parenthood keeps a crucial role in shaping a child’s behavior, they are the ones who must be considered law-breakers instead of their immature kids. If law enforcement agencies find parents responsible for the criminalistic behavior of their youth, these legal guardians eventually realize the importance of bringing up the youngsters as holistically developed individuals, thereby urging them to reduce working long hours, do heavy workloads, and spend quality time with their family. As a result, the younger generation fosters a strong sense of respect towards the legal system, which can allow them to avoid upcoming potential risks of incarceration and harsh prison sentences. Gone are the days when kids themselves were obligated to respond legally to their actions found illegal, as today the rate for criminal conduct has fallen significantly due to serious consequences directed to the caretakers to the point where they can even suffer lengthy prison terms.

In conclusion, although children should be held accountable for their actions to help them understand consequences and develop responsibility, I contend that parents share a higher degree of responsibility due to their influence on upbringing and behavior.