Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A report from the international linguistic center has confirmed that many languages have died in the past few years, they predict that the numbers are only going to increase from now on until any actions are taken.

Many people do not have any problem with this as they believe, having fewer languages would be better for the world. Almost every country has its own language, some might have more than one language spoken like India. Therefore when travelling from one geographic area to another can lead to language problems. Fewer languages allow people to diversify easily. For example in an ideal case where only one language is spoken all around the world, people can easily communicate with each other irrespective of the cultural differences. This way people can save time, by not learning a different language when travelling to a different country

On the other hand, some state that if languages dies, it means the cultural is dead. The major reason why a language gets extinct is due to the fact that people of a culture are adapting a different culture. Fewer languages would mean many emotions and festivals completely depending on languages will burn out, like the festival “Almo” in Assam, India where people sing traditional music.

I believe, that having fewer languages is beneficial because it terminates the communication barrier caused by difference in languages. People can easily communicate without the need of translation which can be slightly time consuming. Although it might eradicate few literature significance, over the bigger picture it is a huge advantage.