Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is reported that many languages distinct every year and It is not taken seriously by many people, because they think with fewer diversity of languages, life will be easier. In my opinion, although sharing one common language throughout the world provides a simpler way of communication, languages are tied up with nation’s history and culture. In fact, by dying out each language, a significant part of world’s history will be removed.

Regarding fewer languages worldwide, communications, schooling, taveling, and immigrating become considerably convenient. For instance, learning native language of the destination country for immigrants, has always been a struggle. However, if they were taught the same language from childhood, they wouldn’t have difficulties learning a new one. Similarly, social medias such as Instagram and TikTok are incouraging people to create their content mostly in English, which is the most used language in different platforms, in order to receive more viewers; This caused most of the users replace their mother tangue with English.

On the other hand, by underestimating the importance of saving languages, cultural identity of some people will fade away and a nation’s heritage will be lost. Some old languages carry important historical informations about a nation’s past communication and even their communications with other countries. For instance, a traditional language spoken by a small group of people living in south of Iran, is called Achomi. This language has several words from english and french, indicating that some exports and imports between Iran and those countries were happening through those cities which were close to Persian Gulf.

In conclusion, Despite the convenience and simplicity that fewer language injects to our social lives, an important part of history and human’s cultural identity will evaporate. In order to take advantage of the both sides of the debate, governments should put the most effort to keep traditional languages alive; while including the most common spoken language in educational systems.