Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world

Some individuals believe that languages becoming extinct each year is not a subject of concern as it is easier to live with fewer languages. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why saving languages from extinction is important, not only for the culture and history, but also for overall development of the society.

To begin with, with the extinction of a language, the culture as well as the history of that area also dies out. In other words, if the source of communication dies, it becomes extremely difficult to understand the culture and the history of the area where it was once spoken. For example, in 2007, an ancient scripture was found in one of the shrines in Egypt but scientists could not be able to understand the script as it was written in an old extinct language. Hence, this prevented the scientists from knowing more about Egyptian history.

Moreover, with languages vanishing one-by-one, people will be unable to speak multiple languages, which can significantly affect the overall personality of the public. To elaborate, reports suggest that being bilingual improves critical thinking, decision-making, and overall intelligence of a person. For instance, according to a survey from the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation), 80% of the individuals who had a higher IQ (Intelligence Quotient) were bilingual. Thus, it is obvious that having multiple languages is important for the development of people.

In conclusion, it is extremely important to save languages from dying out as I believe that it would help us gain knowledge of our history and culture, as well as speaking multiple languages can positively impact the brain of an individual.