Every year several languages die out. This is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalization has already influenced our social lives from different sides, including linguistics where some languages already faced the extinction. While some believe that the reduction in a verbal communication means makes our life easier, I completely disagree with this idea. This process could lead to the loss of the intellectual heritage and national identity.

To begin, modern intellectual sector, including authorities tend to learn global languages. This is due to making communication more convenient in the world. However, it could lead to vital consequences as happened with Latin, for instance, which died out after changing the scientific language in medieval ages. Thus, today only limited number of researchers can understand the valuable information written in this language. Therefore, losing a certain language makes difficult to explore lost civilizations and their rich heritage. Hence, in my opinion, nations should be responsible for keeping their traditions by giving their communicational heritage from one generation to the next.

Consequently, the minority also caused to disappearing of certain languages. When controlling government uses a different language and makes it the national one, some can lose the speaking abilities in their mother tongue, which is one of the national identities of these people. Undoubtedly, because of majority rule, individuals change their attitudes and lifestyles as well. The most African and South American countries are vivid examples of this. Several tribes in these countries already lost their traditions and customs due to this process. Here, I think, governments should pay attention to such issues and develop some legal documents to save dying languages.

To sum up, despite the death of some languages seeming to make our life easy in terms of communication, the process has the notable negative outcomes both intellectually and nationally.