Every year several languages die out. This is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The ongoing extinction of minority languages has raised debate over the scale of its impact on our lives. While the prevalence of one lingua franca can remove many barriers in different realms, I still, for the most part, agree that language diversity is of paramount importance.

The potent reason why the low survival rate of world languages concerns some individuals less than it should directly ascribes to the conveniences enjoyed in the aftermath. The fewer the languages are, the less hassle people encounter, say, while traveling or carrying out business internationally. Not only can the absence of a language bottleneck benefit commercial and recreational sectors, but it also paves the way for many to access invaluable information from the most reliable sources, excluding the need for dictionaries.

However reasonable these arguments may appear, I would still disagree that the disappearance of languages fails to wield damaging influence on our survival. This is basically because when certain languages fall into decay, many traditions and rituals revolving around these languages are brought to the verge of oblivion. For instance, when Latin died out, the part of Italy assimilated into the mainstream European culture. This allegedly threatens social values, making them more vulnerable to external influence.

To conclude, I admit that there are certain advantages to having fewer languages spoken worldwide, such as for business, travel, and information access. Nevertheless, cultural heritage should be prioritized above all else, hence the reason for the extinction of languages warranting concern.