Every year several languages die out. This is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, wars are everywhere. This means that if a country is conquered by another country, then the losing country can lose their language identity. With this in mind, some people think that if some languages die out, then it is not significant because fewer languages makes it easier to communicate with others. In my opinion, all countries maintain their culture values and traditions by keeping their original languages.

It is important to acknowledge that cultures and traditions are the maintain features of any country, especially languages. For example, Vietnam has about 110 languages. As a Vietnamese, I believe we should not lose our local, original languages because these 110 languages help to preserve the Vietnamese cultures and traditions, such as language of the Tay people, which is in the north of Vietnam. The Tay people contribute to the Vietnamese cultures and traditions.

Moreover, most people in this world use English to communicate across countries in order to build personal and business relationships. For example, in beauty competitions, the beauty queen is usually expected to answer questions in English so that foreigners can understand them. Since English is an international language, every country should keep their original, traditional languages. No need to discard cultural developments that have taken place for hundreds or thousands of years.

In conclusion, life will not be easier if there are fewer languages because many cultures and traditions will be erased or eradicated. If a country loses some of its cultures and traditions because some of their languages are eliminated, then life certainly will be difficult for some groups of people in that country, such as the Tay people in Vietnam if they lose the ability to communicate in their own local language. Fewer languages is not a good idea.