every year thousands of students go overseas to study. although many benefits from the experience, others go home disappointed. what are the benefits and drawbacks of studying in another country.

It has been a trend in the past decades for some individuals to move overseas for educational advancement. Many might get their desired outcomes, but others go home with unfulfilled dreams.

To begin with, one of the benefits of studying overseas is being able to be self-reliant. Unlike pursuing further education in one’s home country where you get all the emotional, moral and sometimes financial support from family and friends, moving abroad is the exact opposite. A person will need to depend solely on their own abilities and strength to establish new relationships while also juggling studies and earning a living to pay for that same education.

On the contrary, one of the negative aspects of pursuing education abroad is the over-all negative emotional and mental impact to the individual. For example, some students who had taken loans to pay for their entry to that receiving country might feel a lot of pressure to land a job as soon as they arrive to pay for that money where in reality, there could be no job opportunities available right away since some employers require local experience and qualifications. Another drawback is the feeling of isolation and homesickness. Adjusting to a new way of life and establishing new relationships is not easy especially when you do not even have time to pursue this as your main goal is to study and earn money.

Overall, pursuing an education overseas can be beneficial as it can help discover some important life skills through facing some real like challenges by oneself.