Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Philanthropy is thriving across every corner of the world since the rapid development of most countries, along with the rising awareness of supporting the poor, emerges. It is believed that it should be compulsory for each individual to make endowment to charity organizations with a fixed proportion of their earnings. I tend to disagree this viewpoint.

It is true that sufficient donation could benefit the underprivileged in various ways. If every citizen donates a setted amount of their income regularly, the charity groups will receive a constant flow of budge that can be utilized to improve the living standards of the disadvantaged groups. For example, numerous children are left alone in villages when their parents flocking to cities to strive for a better pay. The continued income of donation could be applied to preparing lunch boxes for these children at schools. Furthermore, this gesture could attest to a powerful image of a country who cares every resident of its own since people’s well being is a parameter to measure a country’s international status.

Conversely, people are facing diverse financial situations, which means that people who are struggling for economic returns or already socially disadvantaged need to budget for a contribution as well. It will lead to unexpected situation where those, barely making ends meet, will slip into the poor or those, already aspiring for help, worsen their living conditions. In addition, every household has its own priorities in allocating their money. For instance, most families will prepare a certain amount of money for their children’s education. As for those who are still single, they might save for a retirement to secure a decent future life. On top of that, making donations should not be a compulsory regulation. This is because it may trigger repulsive feeling which could impede the progress of the collection of charity money.

In conclusion, I believe that although philanthropy means significantly to the lower-class, it should not be compulsory for each individual to leave a fixed share of budget for it.