Everyone must stay at school until 18. Agree or disagree.

Education has always been a topic of concern. A school of thought holds that whether every child should not be allowed to leave school before the age of 18. I am convinced that many people may not agree with this idea, but from my perspective, I am in total agreement.

Many people might subscribe to the fact that children should not be held at school until 18 years old; they could think that this will take a heavy toll on their creativity and their will for exploring the world. Firstly, pursuing academic education is boring as it is, thus it does their creative mind a disservice. As a result, students can spend more time doing what they love, such as painting or playing music, … and those with natural gifts in these kinds of fields will get the chance to pursue their hobbies and enrich life experiences or hone practical skills that could be prevented from being learned when they were at school. Another reason is because not every child has the ability to learn, especially those with poor-quality backgrounds. Because who will pay for the education fees, food, … for these students while they are in school?

Despite the disagreements mentioned above, I do believe that learners should stay at school before they turn 18. The first benefit lies in its educational nature, and students can reap enormous advantages when they are at school. Regarding the former, youngsters who are pursuing academic education can learn a wide range of subjects from science-related fields like math or chemistry to art and music. In addition, by learning all these subjects at school, this acts as a precursor to help with their future career path identification. For example, if students do not learn about these lessons and just follow their hobbies, they might go on a wrong path, which is not suitable for them, and they would not be able to reach their full potential. With respect to the latter, without studying consistently, learners can easily fall prey to social temptations and engage in criminal activities such as stealing, drug use, … which will ruin their lives and deprive them of their opportunities to grow. Meanwhile, education at school would provide students with a safe environment, chances to make friends, create strong bonds and relationships in the long term. This will lay a firm foundation for the proliferation of youngsters’ maturity.

In conclusion, all students should learn at school until they reach 18 years old, not only for their safety but also to help them find a suitable career path to enter the labor force and establish an independent life.