Everyone should stay at school until 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A school of thought holds the opinion that modern-day broadcast networks should increase the number of positive news, believing that this attempt would generate certain advantages. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I firmly believe that there should be a balance between good and bad news, and this essay will clarify my points.

Admittedly, stories that can spread inspirations should be regularly promoted as they instill a sense of community in the viewers. Acts of kindness and charity can set up good examples for people to follow, and if such contents are shown daily, the influence will be magnified, creating a long-standing positive impact on the society. Additionally, broadcasting light-hearted stories is also a way to reduce the seemingly serious tone of news programs. Viewers will gain mental benefits from it, which is something to think about in this contemporary era.

With that being said, there are a host of compelling reasons why I believe that there should be a balance between the airing of good and bad news. Regardless of the upsetting nature, news about wars, conflicts and accidents do have a role in updating people about what is happening around the world. This is not only for awareness purposes, but also to strengthen people’s gratitude and appreciation towards the lives they have. Furthermore, reporting about criminal events or accidents caused by human errors can act as life lessons. As a result, news watchers can become more cautious to the potential dangers around them and can avoid the undesirable consequences.

In conclusion, my stance is a combination of two points of view. While the use of positive materials in news segments should be encouraged, I believe that there should be a balance in the number of good and bad current affairs, and this endeavour will, in turn, benefit the society as a whole.