Everyone should stay at school until 18. What extent do you agree or disagree?

This is an opinion that not until the age of eighteen should children be allowed to leave school. Personally, I disagree with this school of thought given its impracticality and the stultifying effects it has on many young people.

Granted, one might argue that forcing every child to finish high school education confers substantial benefits, on both personal and societal levels. This argument is predicted on the assumption that those under the age of 18 are usually not mature enough, and thus cannot sufficiently protect themselves. As a result, they may fall prey to exploitation, which is a poor preparation for their adulthood, or may be tricked into committing crimes, which could destabilise society.

However, this line of reasoning is not sound because it fails to factor in the plight of many children. For example, their only worry is probably about when or even whether they have their next meal, and so it would be almost entirely fruitless to force them to go to school.

In addition to the questions regarding the efficiency and plausibility of this proposal, I note that children with special abilities and passions should be permitted to leave school earlier. For example, children who are musically talented and wish to become singers in the future should spend their precious time making music or building their reputation rather than learning academic subjects.

In conclusion, forcing everyone to stay at school until 18 years of age would simply be impractical and could hinder the development of many children. Therefore, I strongly feel that such a proposal should not be adopted.