Everyone should stay at school until 18. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that schools play a vital role in everyone’s life, therefore we shouldn’t drop out until we turn eighteen years old. I mostly agree with this view.

The primary justification for my agreement is based on the variety of skills we can learn during school years. Curriculums at schools are designed to help students develop their problem-solving skills and critical thinking ability. Therefore, by attending classes and doing homework regularly, students can consolidate those skills. Along with the subjects, schools provide students with many opportunities to improve their social manner. For example, teachers often divide classes into several groups to do presentations, which encourages students to cooperate with their classmates and alternate their roles to get good marks, thus fostering their communication and collaboration skills. As a consequence, those skills will be beneficial for their future work, as businesses are built from the mutual efforts of a cooperative organization.

Furthermore, pupils have chances to discover their talents at school. Specifically, there are diverse subjects and all of them play an essential role in the development of an individual. For instance, mathematics helps us develop our logical thinking, and literature promotes our writing ability. Therefore, following curriculums at schools helps students improve their skills comprehensively, and find out their strengths and weaknesses. Consequently, they can define their future career more easily based on the educational attainment they achieved.

However, I believe that some individuals have to leave school because of their disadvantaged finances. Particularly, low-income families can’t fully support their children’s studies until they become mature as this studying duration will cost excessive tuition fees, especially when they don’t have scholarships. Also, it isn’t promised that every graduate will get a well-paid job, therefore making individuals choose to drop out and participate in vocational training to support their families financially at an early age.

In conclusion, although there are conflicting opinions about whether or not people should study at school until they become mature, I predominantly believe that schooling is essential. While acknowledging that some people have to drop out to support their family, I believe that schools can determine students’ talents and improve their skills, therefore making it easier for them to choose their career.