Ex 28: Some people think that history has little or nothing to mean, while others think that history can help understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The discourse surrounding history is becoming increasingly prominent, while a segment of the population contends that history is quite nonsensical and meaningless. I firmly advocate that history is able to provide knowledge about recent life.

Proponents of denying the value of history assume that this pivotal aspect is gradually being despised due to ineffective and outdated approaches. Studying and memorizing history, although significantly crucial, is becoming extremely difficult and tedious because teaching methods are still based on books and theories without modernization. Consequently, students, adults, and even elderly people cannot realize the intrinsic value of their national historical events, which contributes to the damage of cultures and societies. Additionally, in many nations, there still remain a wide range of reactionary individuals who oppose the governments and agencies in their local areas. The reason is that such people lack awareness and education in their early lives, which can facilitate ungrateful and irresponsible future generations.

On the flip side, it is evident that history plays a pivotal role in reflecting the establishment and development of civilizations, which helps people raise awareness of who they really are and where they come from. The implication is that they can recognize national and family origins to foster pride and patriotism. A prime illustration of this point is that the younger generation, especially students who hold the destiny of their countries in their hands, need to instill the value of their forefathers’ sacrifices and learn moral lessons from historical figures. As a result, they will be able to continuously contribute to the sustainable growth of their countries. Moreover, understanding national roots helps preserve and promote cultural traditions, which builds solidarity and appreciation among citizens. Eventually, numerous young people tend to take a proactive approach to protecting and passing down customs, heritages, and historical monuments with the aim of promoting and bringing these values to the global world.

In conclusion, while some people think that history is meaningless and unimportant, I totally contend that each individual must continue traditional values and contribute to the evolution of their cultures. Educational methods also play a crucial role in conveying knowledge about history to inspire the youth to actively protect and carry forward national heritage.