Face-to-face meetings with people are much more effective than meetings held on the telephone or via the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are differing opinions regarding the effectiveness of in-person or virtual meetings. However, it is still a fact that COVID-19 has brought a new habit for all of us to utilise technology for professional purposes. Although this is not relevant for all, however, I believe virtual meetings have many benefits.

Firstly, either meetings are held via telephone or the internet, people will find out it’s hassle-free. This applies to some employees who take hours only to commute from their house to the office. In addition, in some metropolitan cities, people tend to afford housing far from their workplaces as it’s way more affordable. Therefore, the virtual meeting also offers the employee a stress-free environment, especially from the traffic during rush hours.

Secondly, the teleconference will increase employee productivity. Most of the time, employees have a lot on their plates whereas attending meetings may appear to be a burden for them to finish their tasks on time. In addition, virtual meetings will give staff an opportunity to multitask while in a meeting. Furthermore, the business may also benefit from generating more revenue.

To those who argue that face-to-face meetings offer a more convenient way of communication, I would like to point out that the advancement of technology should be used to support professional development. As face-to-face opts for the possibility of procrastination, meetings that are held via phone or internet allow the worker to use their time wisely.

To sum up, I opined that the advancement of technology can support communication in professional manner. Moreover, virtual meetings can also help employees to reduce their time for commuting as well as can boost their productivity.