Face-to-face meetings with people are much more effective than meetings held on the telephone or via the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that attending conferences in person is more beneficial than the online one. I support this idea because few distractions can lead to a lack of focus, and individuals may struggle to remember what they have been doing. On the other hand, we can establish rules to help attendees concentrate during offline meetings.

Some individuals argue that meeting via platforms like Zoom or Skype is more useful because it allows for a larger number of participants, even from overseas, without the need for a specific location. They might think, “If we can do this from home, why complicate our lives?” However, I believe that people are more easily distracted by their surroundings such as their phone or housework. In some cases, many university students turn off their cameras and open social media during online class, only to later complain about grades. I have seen some of my friends do this and say, “I don’t know what I was learning.” In contrast, the only thing they had been doing is avoiding the subject.

Another reason for preferring offline meetings is the ability to enforce strict regulations that maintain focus. For example, prohibiting the use of phones during conferences and only allowing pen and paper on the table can be useful. In several universities, some professors have required undergraduates to unplug their mobile devices while class, which has proven effective in maintaining and even increasing student concentration.

In conclusion, I support the perception that in person meetings are more advantageous due to their benefits, such as fostering an environment conducive to focus and, consequently, boosting concentration.