Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that taxpayers whose children go to private schools should be exempt from supporting the state education system. I strongly disagree to this idea because I believe that every individual has a duty to fulfill their tax obligations and investing in education will benefit the whole nation in the long run.

Paying taxes is a social responsibility. Regardless of life status, everyone should be required to do so, especially the rich, in my opinion. Generally, families who can afford to send their children in exclusive schools belong to the middle and upper class of the society. In the Philippines, private schools can cost as much as half a million pesos per academic year. If these families can afford this huge amount of money to pay for their children’s schooling, there is no reason for them to seek ways of evading taxes.

Moreover, supporting state education system has a lot of positive impacts in the country’s future. The nation’s education system relies heavily from taxpayer’s money that is used to build more buildings like universities, libraries, museums, and a lot more places that stimulate learning. It also provides funds to pay educators who are the backbone of every school institution. It is because of the people’s money that universities can produce highly qualified professionals like doctors, engineers, lawyers, and architects.

In conclusion, there should be no exemption when it comes to paying taxes and using these funds on investing in the country’s youth by giving them a chance at education is essential to create a progressive nation.