Fashion trends are difficult to follow these days and it’s widely believed that they primarily exist just to sell clothes. Some people believe that we shouldn’t follow them and that we should dress in what we like and feel comfortable in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

Fashion trends have been leading with very short trails to follow along with the fact that their prime existence focuses towards the sales of the wearables. There is however, a belief among people that inclines towards the individual decision for comfort and joy in their own choice of clothing rather than following a trend. I agree to the same.

Firstly, the world of fashion has rocketed sky high in the last few decades, due to which keeping up with the contemporary trends have become a hassle in itself. There used to be a time when people dressed according to the defining eras such as retro, classic or postmodern clothing fashion. However, today, the commercialization of such products has been the prime target for fashion hubs, rather than the admiration of artwork reflected by attires. As a result, the clothing brands and industries focus on sales and merely on the aesthetics of clothes.

Secondly, the tendency for people to seek more comfort has touched the sector of fashion as well. Unlike before, about half the population is, now, looking for wearables that are more comfortable to be in. For example, on a given day, a girl might choose flat sandals over pointed heel shoes for a ceremony. This, in turn, might change the whole dressing attire itself, just to match the sandals rather than heels.

In a nutshell, while it is equally crucial for fashion industries to launch new and innovative dressing trends, one cannot deny the fact that eventually, people in today’s world, are likely to choose comfort over everything, including fashion.