Fashion trends are difficult to follow these days and it’s widely believed that they primarily exist just to sell clothes. Some people believe that we shouldn’t follow them and that we should dress in what we like and feel comfortable in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

Nowadays fashion keeps changing fast, which makes it challenging for people to keep up with new trends. Some people believe that this trends are used to sell more clothes and that people shouldn’t follow fashion, although, others think that it is important part of people’s life’s. Both perspectives have valid points and should be considered.

Opponents of following fashion trends argue that people should not chase after every new fashion tendency, because it leads to unnecessary spending and enhances the culture of consumerism. Nowadays, many businesses often use trends to increase their sales rather than to promote new fashion ideas. Subsequently, people become pressured to buy more clothes to stay in trend, resulting in unnecessary consumption. Additionally, critics explain that focusing on trends discourages development of personal style and puts people in a box. Without following fashion trends, people can come up with their own style and feel comfortable in clothes they wear, without the need to keep up with new trends and buy new clothes every couple month. Statistics show that people that don’t follow trends tend to prone to unnecessary expenses 3 times less.

On the other hand, proponents say that following fashion is a way of expression, and is not only about fashion, but about reflecting culture and social progress. These fashion trends allow tracking social changes as well as innovations in fashion culture through clothes, colours and etc. Hence, following these trends play essential part in progress. For instance, some fashion styles were used to express certain viewpoints, such as punk style that symbolises striving for individualism.

In conclusion, while fashion trends can lead to overconsumption, they also play a significant role in personal expression and cultural reflection. Deciding whether to follow them or not depends on personal values and how one sees fashion’s role in their life.