Fast fashion has become increasingly popular, leading to a large amount of textile waste. What problems are associated with fast fashion industry, and what solutions can consumers and manufacturers adopt to address these problems?

Fast fashion is one of the most popular trend among masses, predominantly among teenagers, who sought to spend money on it. People brag about having a particular item of clothing. They think that it makes them unique and help to stand out. However, this type of fashion tend to pass really fast, when it is being replaced with a new trend. To adress this problem we must understand its cause.

Fast fashion targets young people, who want to show off and gain respect among friends. Nevertheless, teenagers and young adults rarely make their own money. They ask parents to buy them clothing, but not every parent is eager to spend their salary on fast fasion product. Teenagers who does not own any piece of it become outcasts and can not socialise properly. That can become a cause of bullying. That’s why parents are forced to spend enormous amount of money to buy their kids clothing.

To solve this problem, educational institutions must adopt uniform. That makes everyone equal in terms of wealth. We must promote buying second hand clothes as it helps kids to stand out and is not expensive. It also helps to save planet as it reduces amount of waste. Parents and teachers must also educate young people about structural inaquality and taech them to treat everyone with respect. Clothing does not make anyone a better person. It should be a way of expression, not a way of opression.

Overall, I belive that fast fashion is much more problematic than we actually understand. It affects our life on so many levels, not just at economic and environmental. We should take responsebility for our actions and be conscious.