Fast food advertisements can be foulad on TV and throughout social media which tempts people to eat unhealthy food. Should fast food ads be banned?

Fast food ads are one of the most displayed advertisements on digital platforms and TV channels. These advertisements have a great influence on people and cause them to eat unhealthy products. In this essay, I will give my opinion about the effect of these ads on people.

Firstly, junk food ads attract people by doing various companies and promotional discounts throughout the year and lead to an increase in fast food consumption. These lead to an increase in bad diseases like diabetes and hypertension, which drastically change people’s lives. These diseases are known as slow killers, where people may not have any problems at first, but over time, these diseases can have a serious impact on person’s life, reducing life expectancy and eventually leading to death. For example, according to a study by Harvard University, 10 million people in the world will be infected with illness during 2014-2024.

Secondly, an important argument can be made that fast food companies are simply trying to advertise their products to their competitors, that is, they are not promoting people to eat these foods every day. Banning advertisements may reduce their sales, which could lead to franchise closures, job losses and the reduced taxes the country receives from these junk food restaurants. For instance, McDonalds and Burger King are competitors, they have always tried to crush each other, and now their income is sometimes decreasing and sometimes increasing due to ads.