Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, a pencil, or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

Only a small number of people write by hand using a pen or pencil nowadays. This is a positive development because fewer handwriting tasks bring more convenience and efficiency to the human lifestyle. Such changes also save natural resources and reduce pollution.

The reasons why fewer people today write by hand are that technologies are becoming more advanced and those well-developed products are commonly used in daily basics. The examples would be the keyboards that contain both numeric and alphabets, the virtual keyboards in phones and the voice activation technology. Firstly, keyboards are widely used by people as they can generate words by simply clicking the keycaps. Secondly, the voice activated devices detect the human voice and they create words.

Writing by hand is considered as “old-school” in society as people used to send letters and mails written by hand. In this day and age, most humans rely on the devices produced by innovative inventors. Those devices only require only a few simple tasks such as clicking and tapping to write the words and letters. Such functions make the human lifestyle more convenient, efficient and even more productive in specific job fields such as computer engineering. Using less pen or pencil means saving the natural resources that are trees and plants, also resulting in less pollution.

To sum up everything that has been stated, hardly any people writing by hand indicates that the majority of them are using the better form of writing.

The modern lifestyle is still bringing a plethora of benefits to society and technology plays a main role in positive development.