Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen or pencil.

An increasing number of people are less writing by hand utilizing a pen or pencil doubled in our century before new technologies came along. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend along with the writer’s explanation as to why this is a positive phenomenon.

The main explanation for this trend, in my estimation, is the changes in our lifestyle brought about by the increased demands of the digital messages and emails. Research has shown that modern education systems are increasingly reliant on digital resources which have placed less emphasis on handwriting instruction. For instance, the rise of digital devices in classrooms, such as tablets, laptops, and interactive whiteboards have shifted the focus of learning from traditional pen-and-paper methods to more screen-based interactions. While it’s true that decline of handwriting may have certain practical advantages, it raises concerns about the potential loss of a valuable skill that has been linked to cognitive development, creativity and personal expression.

In spite of the risk of vision loss and committing to a sedentary lifestyle, there are merits to it that surpass the possible negative chances. When writing something by hand it requires not only pens and pencils, but also papers. Since papers are made out of trees, frequent usage of them leads to deforestation, which colossally affects the biodiversity. In modern society it is less harmful for the environment to use digital devices, because wooden made materials are not needed. Furthermore, it is convenient, plus can save some time if a person is a fast typer.

In conclusion, writing by hand might be a way of enhancing cognitive abilities, however it is a greater option to make use of digital devices. Besides, the positive aspects of this innovation seem to outweigh the negative ones according to the evidence presented.