Fewer people are reading books nowadays, especially among the younger generation. What are the causes of this trend? What solutions can you suggest to encourage more people to read?

In recent years, the number of people who are interested in traditional publications has significantly declined compared to the past. This essay will indicate the reasons behind this phenomenon as well as propose some solutions to motivate people to develop reading habits.

One of the main reasons is the development of technology, which suggests people with many other choices for working, learning and specially entertainment. In other words, reading books and newspapers for entertainment, which common in the past, has been replaced by technology- based forms of entertainment that attract more people include social media, online videos or steaming platforms. For example in the past, many people have few opportunities to access technology, so reading traditional publications is popular form entertainment. However, Youtube, Facebook or Tiktok have become popular social media platforms, attracting many people who use them for entertainment in these days. Another reason is that modernization is becoming more fast-paced, leaving people with less free time for reading in the past. In other words, nowadays, people often work long hours therefor they have little free time to relax.As a result, many people prefer social media, short videos and games for entertainment because they can spend little time than reading.

The first solution is that the government should encourage individuals to read books, especially in school and parents can limit screen time for children. For example, the government should motivate students to develop reading habits early and families can support children to build healthier habits. Moreover, the government can invest in public libraries and digital libraries. For example, building public libraries with comfortable reading spaces can attract more people to read books. In addtion, allowing people to access e-libraries to read books for free can significantly increase the number of readers.

In conclusion, the decline in reading habits is mainly caused by digital entertainment and busy life. Nevertheless, this issue can be addressed by the encouragement of develop reading habits and improving access to books.