fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

With technological advancements on the rise, the need for students to study more computer-based subjects increases, while science becomes the less favored option. Overall, this change introduces more long-term benefits for the younger generation and is mainly brought about by the changing trends in human inventions and discoveries.

Most offices nowadays are furnished with high-tech computers, making it easy to compartmentalize files and documents in one device. To prepare pupils for this working environment, they are already expected to take IT classes from as early as secondary school, and pursuing advanced education here also improves resumes for job applications. With the foundational knowledge in computing, students developed when they were young, the task of learning becomes more manageable. Furthermore, in contrast to computers’ automated and predictable responses, it can be overwhelming to learn science, which requires more practical research. Rather than textbooks, learners have a better chance of retaining the lesson when they are fully engaged, with the Internet also helping them study alongside numerous articles rather than thick and heavy books.

As for the reasons behind this shift, since the 2000s, technology has been everchanging, seeing numerous advancements. Because of this, other hands-on subjects have become obsolete in comparison to the study of machinery. This explains why students choose to pursue IT in university, as it is more contemporary and stable. Nowadays, you will sooner hear news about a recent invention rather than a groundbreaking discovery in science, as all the knowledge has already been laid out by previous researchers.

In conclusion, computer-based subjects becoming a more popular field of study than science is a positive change. It reflects the commonness of these devices in our daily lives, the root cause of this development in modern times.