Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas. Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

It is claimed that there is a decrease in the number of young people work in rural places. This essay will discuss the reason of that and give advice whether they should become a farmer or not.

There are several causes why the young prefer industrial jobs to farming. One possible reason is the value of money. With the development of the world nowadays, farming is considered as a low-income job, while living standards are becoming higher and higher, leading to an upward trend of living costs. Therefore, young individuals tend to find a job in cities because of a more lucrative income, so they can improve their living conditions, take care of their family and survive in this era. For instance, many youngsters who are from sparsely populated regions have moved to urbans or other nations to nourish themselves, and also provide their family with monthly subsidy.

In spite of great allure of factory-based jobs, farming jobs can bring the youth many benefits. The first upside is avoiding domestic food crisis. In almost Asian countries, agriculture has become a main and traditional job since the establishment of the civilization, supplying the primary sustenance. Thus, the slump in young workers engaging in farming can cause famine for an entire nation. Besides, working in agricultural field also help young people learn a lot of practical skills. Moreover, farming could be fertilizing, cropping plants or farming time management which can help them organize their schedule, take more responsibility for their professional career or become more diligent.

In conclusion, although the benefits of factory jobs are gradually changing our perception of farm work, hence a decline in the manpower engaging in agriculture, young people should still take part in this sector, farming, to experience and acquire useful life skills. This may be a fruitful career path for them to take.