Films and game can be accessed at any time from mobile devices, like smartphones , tablets and laptop. Do advantage outweigh disadvantage?

With the recent technology advancements, films and video games became more accessible than before. This was only possible through mobile devices such as smartphones, tablets and laptop computers, which can be used at any time. I believe this has more drawbacks than advantages to our community.

On one hand, mobile devices usage can be beneficial, as they provide entertainment during peoples’ free time. In other words, users can enjoy their excess time watching a show or playing an online game with their peers on their portable devices. As a demonstration, commuters usually spend their travel-time on the train or bus using their smartphones to watch a show or even scroll on social media.

On the other hand, these portable gadgets have created a social barrier between societies. This is because people tend to interact with their smartphones during gatherings and social events. There is no factual reason for this phenomenon, but I think these devices have created a comfort zone for their users that can be challenging for them to leave, even during these events. Consequently, social bonds are disrupted; as individuals are too busy on their devices. For instance, family members are no longer connected like before and with less family meetings taking place.

In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in regard of this concept. This is due to people, especially young adults, spending much time on their smartphones rather than socializing and building relationships at venues; despite the positive influence when used for entertainment purposes.