Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people think that financial literacy should be included in the school curriculum. I strongly agree with this statement since students could prepare for the future, though it might be difficult to introduce this subject in developing countries.

Indeed, students should have basic knowledge in this subject so they could deal with challenges that they might face in the future. Unfortunately, there are many cases when a lot of people do create multiple streams of income or have a financial pillow. Therefore, if recession or other economic disasters happen, they might struggle to handle them and , hence, borrow heavily. This is why a course that could help students may be beneficial for them as they would be more prepared for economic struggles.

While it could definitely help students to deal with these challenges, countries, where capitalism was recently introduced, might lack teachers that could explain this subject. This can result in situations when almost no one understands how the economy works. One might assume that people can learn more about it while studying in western countries. However, it will take a lot of time for a sufficient number of experts to emerge. Therefore, there may be difficulties with introducing this course in several countries.

In conclusion, although it is certainly a good idea since young people could benefit from understanding how to deal with financial challenges, countries with a limited number of professionals in this particular field may face obstacles with including this subject in a school curriculum.