First impressions are often considered to be important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is how you secure a good job. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

First impressions are known to be the foundation stone for success. It is very common in culture and corporate world that they hire employees according to their first impression. In my point of view, it is not possible to secure a job in this way. My justifications regarding my statement are below.

First and foremost, there are millions of companies around the globe. These companies constantly recruit new employees for their growing businesses. Every company has its own set of criteria to hire people. Some of these companies directly conduct interviews, while other employers conduct exams as well as interview. Only those students are called for interview, who qualify written exam. At the time of interview, these companies ask different types of questions. They have their own set of questions. They judge students in many ways, like education background, leadership skills, and computer skills. It is impossible to gauge one’s capability only with first impression. For example, if a student is well prepared and fully confident for the interview. He is trying to get the job with first impression. However, interviewer asks him a very simple excel formula and he does not know the answer. He will definitely lose his chances to secure the position. Therefore, one cannot enter in corporate world just by applying first impression on interviewer.

Secondly, God has created everyone with various in-born skills. Some of them are called god-gifted skills. On the other hand, many people have to struggle a lot in a race to survival of the fittest. Moreover, some people are capable to secure a high demanding degree and drastically increases their chances to qualify for the job in an interview. Additionally, ethics also play a major role in an interview. It is an undeniable fact that the one, who is better qualified, has the higher chances to answer correctly to the questions asked by an employer. Thus, making him a better fit for the job.

In a nutshell, first impression is a useful toll that slight increases the score in an interview. But, there are many other factors that influence the recruitment process. It is the duty of a person to get better education, improve leadership skills, be a good observer, and learn technical skills used in the modern world. By incorporating these skills, one can become a successful candidate of international companies.