For a less developed country, the disadvantages of tourism are as great as the advantages. Please discuss this statement, and give and explain your opinion.

The impact of tourism in a less developed country, which was always debatable, has become more controversial. While proponents believe that tourism causes great disadvantages, opponents claim that there are advantages. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the debate and thus lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why there are several drawbacks of tourism in a less developed country, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that both local people and tourists can be inconvenienced when commuting. In other words, because of the overcrowding, people can face some traffic congestions and delays. An instance illustrating this reason is the fact that in some Asian countries, the overcrowding on the road has increased by 15% in the tourist season. Furthermore, tourism can cause problems to the urban landscape and environment because of the trash. For instance, there are 1 million tons of garbage found each year on Bali’s coasts, which is mostly caused by tourists.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and believe that tourism also has a lot of advantages. It is largely attributed to the fact that the home country can share local culture. For example, Vietnamese can spread their rich cuisine and become one of the countries that has its food in the top of the list of the best food in the world. Another point to be taken into consideration is that tourism can contribute to the development of the economy, which can increase more than 15% to other industries and demand for labor workers.

In a nutshell, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, I strongly believe that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages in a less developed country.