Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the sphere of tourism, many people hold a belief that it is incumbent upon overseas tourists to pay a higher fee compared to domestic tourists when visiting cultural and historical landmarks. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement for the following reasons.

To begin with, the idea of charging travelers from abroad more than local ones is beneficial since it contributes to the long-term sustainability of these heritage sites. This is because overseas visitors often have higher disposable incomes and may be willing to pay more for access to these places of interest, which can generate additional revenue to cover maintenance costs, preservation efforts, and infrastructure upgrades, thereby ensuring the financial sustainability of these tourist attractions in the long run. This can be seen in the way Sun World Ba Na Hills, a well-known destination in Vietnam, has different entrance fees for foreign and local tourists, allowing the site to constantly upgrade its services as well as add newly well-crafted areas for entertainment and sightseeing year to year. Therefore, international travelers should be charged more than domestic residents considering these prescribed benefits.

What is more, the notion of implementing different pricing strategies for foreign and domestic visitors is attractive as it can make a great contribution to the local economies and communities. This means that the extra money paid by tourists from other countries can be reinvested into funding various community development initiatives and projects, hence creating new job opportunities for the locals and stimulating business growth as well. Take, the coastal village of Vinh Hy in Vietnam, as an example in which the revenue generated by overseas tourists has improved the living conditions of the residents there and created more occupations in the tourism and service sector for these people to earn a living and sustain a better life. As such, charging foreign tourists a higher fee than domestic ones is a justifiable idea to advocate.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned, I contend that travelers from abroad should pay a larger amount than indigenous tourists to visit the local tourist attractions. However, it is advisable to thoroughly consider the differences between the charging fees and implement reasonable prices for these different tourist groups so that the foreign counterparts do not feel any discrimination or inequality.