Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is undoubted that foreign visitors play an indispensable role in fostering the country’s revenue in tourism through their visits to tourist attractions. I disagree that overseas travellers should pay more than the locals.

To commence with, one argument in favor of the higher prices for foreigners is that many cultural and historical attractions are literally funded by governments, which means that local people actually contributed to the spots via the tax system. Resultantly, it is widely accepted that locals are either charged less or even having free access, compared with the abroad visitors. However, it is just a short-sighted view. Not only does the flow of tourists to these places contribute to the growth of the country’s tourism, but it also does good for related sections, namely, food, fashion, recreation or even transportation. Hence, the more services are needed, the more employees are taken on, which then reduces the rate of unemployment. Additionally, the GDP of that country also rises. Authorities can allocate more money from the nation’s income to improve the quality of infrastructure, preservation projects, creating a cycle of sustainable growth.

Moreover, from the perspectives of international travellers, they are less willing to visit a country that treats them unfairly to the locals. It is believed that a hospitable and friendly destination can attract more visitors. Vietnam, for example, is one of the most allured spots for foreign visitors. In recent years, thanks to the policies to welcome travellers warmly, Vietnam has attracted more travellers from other countries, ensuring that both the local and abroad have the same access to the services. In contrast, travellers are also ready to choose other countries if the prices at the places are prohibited or in case they are overcharged by the sellers.

In conclusion, whether they are local or foreign visitors, the tourist attractions should keep the balance between the charge they have to pay.