Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Countries face the challenge of whether to focus on training their citizens in practical skills for the workplace or place the emphasis on university education for a more academically oriented workforce. In my view, governments need to maintain a balance in order to keep their country functioning smoothly.

A university education trains people in traditionally “important” careers. Investing in highly skilled professionals such as doctors, lawyers and accountants is critical for any economy and society. These services bring in higher incomes, thus encouraging consumerism and spending. This aids in a country’s growth and prosperity. They also provide vital services to keep citizens healthy, financially secure, and well-educated, for example with doctors, accountants and financial advisors, and teachers. Without services such as these, economies would struggle to compete on the global market.

At the same time, no society could function without the medium and low-skilled workers that ensure sewage systems work correctly, keep our cars and industrial machines running, make daily trade and commerce possible in stores, and provide natural resources to manufacturers. While they may not need a formal university education to perform their tasks, the services that these individuals provide ensure cities are able to function, and that manufacturing and distribution are possible. They allow highly skilled labourers to perform their jobs and live in a civilised society.

When planning for their future labour force, I believe governments should always ensure they are investing in both types of work discussed above. Some countries may choose to invest more heavily into one over the other based on their societal needs, but it will always be important to have a mix of qualified people for a successful country to grow.